“The Wall”

Life’s lessons at times are quite difficult to swallow,
In fact the love you hope to feel has no depth, it’s shallow,
Things were fine before I made that requested phone call,
Now my emotions are in an uproar and up goes the wall,
The wall of defense to keep you at a comfortable distance,
The wall of defense that says, “I DON’T NEED YOUR ASSISTANCE,”
I can’t let you take me to that place ever again,
No I’ve got to take it out of gear before it can even begin,
This journey with you always bring forth heartache and pain,
And I’m truly enjoying the sunshine, so you can keep the rain,
Off of my parade because I’m doing just fine without you,
It just hurts too much to let you get in and do the things you do,
Halt, I say step back and wait a darn minute,
Things are so different now cause I’m in it to win it,
I can’t fall for the trap again, you’re like a lethal injection,
Go, scat, get out of my life, Yea you’ve just been ejected!

Leave a comment